SAMI organizes defense conference under the theme ‘Reinforcing Partnerships, Creating Value’ in Washington D.C.

content

As part of the Saudi Crown Prince’s visit to the United States

The event brings defense industry leaders to further bolster U.S.-Saudi historical and strategic ties

 

Washington D.C., 23 March 2018: Organized by Saudi Arabian Military Industries (SAMI) in collaboration with the U.S.-Saudi Arabian Business Council, the Defense Technology and Security Conference concluded its sessions with the participation of more than a dozen high-profile speakers and over 100 industry leaders, advisors, regulators, and influencers who have come to discuss and learn more about Saudi Arabia’s vision and strategic outlook in developing its defense industry with a special focus on technology and security as the two main components of the program.

 

As Saudi Arabia advances its historic Vision 2030 initiative to create a stronger, more stable business environment and greater opportunities for corporate partnerships, the Kingdom will experience transformational economic and social reform designed to unlock the potential of the Saudi people and ensure a prosperous future for both the country and region. 

 

Comprising three panel discussions and held under the theme ‘Reinforcing Partnerships, Creating Value,’ the conference comes as part of the visit of HRH Prince Mohammed bin Salman bin Abdulaziz, Crown Prince, Deputy Prime Minister, and Minister of Defense of Saudi Arabia to the United States, which aims to further cement the U.S.-Saudi historical partnership and open up new vistas of opportunities.

 

H.E. Ahmed Al Khateeb, Chairman of Saudi Arabian Military Industries (SAMI) welcomed the guests and underscored the importance of the conference theme ‘Reinforcing Partnerships, Creating Value,’ to embody the depth of the historic and robust relationship between the U.S.  and Saudi Arabia – a relationship based on mutual commitment, trust, drive, and value.

 

 

Titled ‘Realizing the Vision, Developing the Defense Ecosystem,’ the second panel featured a stellar lineup of speakers, including H.E. Khalid Al-Falih, Saudi Minister of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources; H.E. Dr. Majid Al-Qasabi, Saudi Minister of Commerce and Investment; and H.E. Mr. Ahmed Al-Khateeb, Chairman of SAMI. The discussion outlined how Saudi Arabia is developing the defense ecosystem in the Kingdom and how this will ultimately realize the Saudi Vision 2030.

 

Featuring Dr. Andreas Schwer, CEO of SAMI; Leanne Caret, CEO of Boeing Defense, Space, and Security; Kurt E. Amend, CEO of Raytheon Saudi Arabia; and Colin Mahoney, Senior Vice President of International and Service Solutions at Rockwell Collins, the first panel addressed how to create a value chain for a sustainable future, citing the tremendous progress Saudi Arabia has been witnessing and building on the historical U.S.-Saudi ties.

 

Moderated by John Hamre, CEO of the Center for Strategic and International Studies, the third and final panel explored ‘The Strategic Outlook and the Road Ahead’ and featured a prominent lineup of panelists, including Mohammed Al-Athel, Secretary General of the Board of Directors ‎ of the General Authority for Military Industries (GAMI); The Honorable Kenneth J. Krieg, Former Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics (AT&L); and Maj. Gen. Arnold L. Punaro, Immediate Past Chair and Nominating & Governance Committee Chair of the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA).

 

Saudi Arabian Military Industries (SAMI) is a state-owned military company launched in May 2017 by Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund (PIF). SAMI was established to provide military products and services and to reduce the country’s reliance on foreign purchases of military products. SAMI’s reported targets include the contribution of 14 billion riyals (US$3.7 billion) to the Saudi economy by 2030, 6 billion riyals (US$1.6 billion) investment in research and development and the creation of 40,000 jobs.

الشركة السعودية للصناعات العسكرية (SAMI) تنظم مؤتمراً تحت شعار "تعزيز الشراكات وتحقيق القيمة" في العاصمة واشنطن

الحدث يجمع خبراء الدفاع من البلدين في مسعى إلى تقوية الروابط السعودية-الأميركية التاريخية والاستراتيجية

 

واشنطن العاصمة، 24 مارس 2018م: اختُتِمت فعاليات "مؤتمر تقنية الدفاع والأمن" الذي نظمته الشركة السعودية للصناعات العسكرية بالتعاون مع مجلس الأعمال السعودي الأميركي، وذلك بمشاركة مجموعة من كبار المتحدثين وأكثر من 100 خبيرٍ ومتخصصٍ ومستشار تبادلوا والآراء ووجهات النظر حول رؤية المملكة العربية السعودية ونظرتها الاستراتيجية فيما يتعلق بمستقبل صناعة الدفاع، والتركيز على التقنية والأمن باعتبارهما العنصرين الأساسيين لأجندة المؤتمر.

 

ومع مضي المملكة في رحلتها نحو تحقيق مبادرات رؤيتها 2030 التاريخية الرامية إلى خلق بيئة عمل أكثر صحة واستقراراً وتوفير فرص أكبر للشراكات التجارية والمؤسسية، ستشهد المملكة إصلاحات تحويلية اقتصادياً واجتماعياً تهدف إلى تطوير إمكانيات الشعب السعودي وضمان مستقبل مزدهر للمملكة والمنطقة على حد سواء.

 

ويأتي المؤتمر الذي يضم ثلاث جلسات نقاشية ويعقد تحت شعار "تعزيز الشراكات وتحقيق القيمة"، في إطار زيارة صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير محمد بن سلمان بن عبدالعزيز ولي العهد نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء وزير الدفاع، إلى الولايات المتحدة الأميركية، والتي تهدف إلى ترسيخ أواصر الشراكة السعودية-الأميركية التاريخية، وإفساح المجال أمام المزيد من الفرص الجديدة.

 

وافتتح المؤتمر معالي الأستاذ أحمد الخطيب رئيس مجلس إدارة الشركة السعودية للصناعات العسكرية مرحِّباً بالضيوف الحاضرين، ومشدداً على أهمية المؤتمر والقضايا التي يناقشها تحت شعاره "تعزيز الشراكات وتحقيق القيمة"، إذ سعى المجتمعون إلى تجسيد الروابط التاريخية التي تجمع البلدين الحليفين، والقائمة على أساس الالتزام والثقة والإرادة والقيمة المشتركة.

 

وشهد المؤتمر جلسة استثنائية بمشاركة كل من معالي الدكتور ماجد القصبي وزير التجارة والاستثمار، ومعالي المهندس خالد الفالح وزير الطاقة والصناعة والثروة المعدنية، إلى جانب معالي الأستاذ أحمد الخطيب رئيس مجلس إدارة الشركة السعودية للصناعات العسكرية، فيما ناقشوا "تجسيد الرؤية وتطوير منظومة الدفاع"، وكيف يسهم ذلك في تحقيق رؤية المملكة 2030 الطموحة.

 

أما الجلسة الثانية، فقد شارك فيها الدكتور أندرياس شوير الرئيس التنفيذي للشركة السعودية للصناعات العسكرية، والأستاذة ليان كاريت الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة بوينج لصناعات الدفاع والفضاء والأمن، والأستاذ كيرت أمند الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة رايثيون العربية السعودية، والأستاذ كولن ماهوني نائب الرئيس الأول في وحدة الحلول والخدمات العالمية في شركة روكويل كولنز. وتناول المجتمعون كيفية إنشاء سلسلة قيمة لمستقبل مستدام، وناقشوا التطور الهام الذي أحرزته المملكة العربية السعودية حتى اليوم، وسبل الارتقاء بالعلاقات السعودية-الأميركية إلى مستوياتٍ أعلى.

 

وكانت الجلسة الأخيرة من المؤتمر بعنوان "النظرة المستقبلية الاستراتيجية وخارطة الطريق"، وأدارها الأستاذ جون هامري الرئيس التنفيذي لمركز الدراسات الاستراتيجية والدولية، وشارك فيها الأستاذ محمد العذل أمين عام مجلس إدارة الهيئة العامة للصناعات العسكرية، وسعادة كينيث كريغ وكيل وزارة الدفاع السابق لشؤون الاستحواذ والتقنية والخدمات اللوجستية، واللواء أرنولد بونارو رئيس مجلس الإدارة السابق ورئيس لجنة الترشيحات والحوكمة في جمعية الصناعات الدفاعية الوطنية.

 

وتُعَد الشركة السعودية للصناعات العسكرية كياناً وطنياً مملوكاً لصندوق الاستثمارات العامة في المملكة العربية السعودية. وتأسست في مايو من عام 2017م، وهي تقدم منتجات وخدمات عسكرية بهدف خفض الاعتماد على المشتريات الأجنبية في هذا المجال. ويتطلع القائمون على الشركة إلى المساهمة في الناتج الإجمالي المحلي للمملكة بحوالي 14 مليار ريال سعودي (3,7 مليار دولار أمريكي) بحلول عام 2030م، في حين تسعى الشركة لاستثمار 6 مليارات ريال سعودي (1,6 مليار دولار أمريكي) في مجال البحث والتطوير، وخلق حوالي 40 ألف فرصة عمل لأبناء وبنات المملكة.